The status of a proof is shown on the proof tile on the dashboard, and also at the top of the proof’s info pane (click the i icon when viewing a proof to open the info pane). The status determines who can use the red pen to add a comment to the proof.

When can the red pen tool be used

In proofing

The proof has been sent out and is underway in its workflow. These people can use the red pen:

  • All the reviewers on the proof who can see the proof (i.e they are in a past workflow step, or the current workflow step)
  • All proof owners

Tip: Open the proof’s info pane, scroll to the workflow and the green border will indicate the current workflow step.

In proofing & locked

The proof has been sent out and is underway in its workflow and a gatekeeper or the approver has locked the proof. These people can use the red pen:

  • The gatekeeper/approver who locked the proof
  • All proof owners

To-do requested

The proof has been returned to the proof owner with a to-do list. These people can use the red pen:

  • All proof owners

Approved

The proof has been given final approval by the approver. The proof is now locked to everyone and no one can use the red pen.


Our team is always available to assist if you have any questions – simply reach out to us via the in-app chat on the dashboard.

Did this answer your question?