Skip to main content
When to lock the proof

When a gatekeeper or approver opens the proof, PageProof will ask if they want to lock it. So what does it mean to lock the proof?

Gemma avatar
Written by Gemma
Updated this week

When a proof arrives to a workflow step with a gatekeeper, or approver, the proof can be locked during the review. The proof owner can also choose to lock the proof at this stage.

When to lock the proof

As a gatekeeper: The decision to make

As a gatekeeper you must decide:

  • Is the proof OK to continue on in the workflow for others to review, or

  • Does it need to be returned straight away to the proof owner with a to-do list

You can make your decision with the proof unlocked or locked. The choice to lock the proof is yours. If you want to lock the proof during your review, click the lock icon. This removes the red pen from all other reviewers during your review.

To make your decision as a gatekeeper

  • To let the proof continue through the workflow, click approve & send on. Or,

  • Mark comments you want actioned as to-do in the comment pane and return the proof back by clicking send to-do list

As an approver: The decision to make

As an approver you must decide:

  • Is the proof OK to give final approval, or

  • Does it need to be returned straight away to the proof owner with a to-do list

You can make your decision with the proof unlocked or locked. The choice to lock the proof is yours. If you want to lock the proof during your review, click the lock icon. This removes the red pen from all other reviewers during your review.

To make your decision as an approver

  • To give the proof final approval, click approve. Or,

  • Mark comments you want actioned as to-do in the comment pane and return the proof back by clicking send to-do list.

Tip

Hover over the workflow step lock icon to see who locked the proof.

See who locked the proof by hovering on the lock icon next to the workflow step

Did this answer your question?